Error the gallery with an id of: 8 is not published


Have you always wondered how to get involved in the interclub races that RSC members compete in each winter?
RSC Race Team members are selected based on previous race results and/or by personal referees. We try to create winning teams in each of the various race categories. If you are interested in representing RSC in any of these events please contact Chris Blomfield at chris.blomfield@gmail.com and he can add you to the list of possible team members. Not everyone can manage to come to all five interclub events so please let us know what you may be available for.
Although we like to be competitive on the racecourse, we also try to enter as many teams as possible, to give everyone who is interested a chance to go through the course. It is a great way to extend your skiing and boarding skills. In addition, each club hosts their own unique prize giving after each event. These always involve drinks and food and many spot prizes are given out to those who attend. And of course, you get to see how many trophies our RSC teams win!

Racing Events

No events

Christiania Derby

First teams race event of the Ruapehu calendar. 

This event is competitive but it is also well patronised due to the fun element. The highlight of the event for many is prize giving and after-match function held at the Christiania Ski Lodge on the mountain.
Teams : 
4 people per team
  • Juniors Team (under 17 at 1 January, at least 1 girl in team)
  • Mens Team (open ages)
  • Ladies Team (open ages)
  • Masters (40 or over at 1 January and at least 1 lady in team)
  • Snowboarders
  • Veterans (65 or over at 1 January)

Haensli Cup

The Haensli Cup is a race to find the fastest man and fastest woman on Mount Ruapehu. It has been hosted by The Ruapehu Ski Club for the last 40 years and is arguably the top interclub race at Whakapapa.

Rangatira Trophy

Held at Whakapapa Ski Field 
  • Each racer gets 2 runs, best time counts.
  • ‘Fastest Club on the Mountain’ Trophy up for grabs (sum of 5 fastest club times including 1 female, 1 junior and 1 master).
  • 4 members per team

Tongariro Junior Race

This race will be for those 17 years or younger on race day. 
While the crowning glory will be the Interclub trophy, there will also be awards for the fastest in many age categories for both girls and boys.
The interclub trophy will involve teams of 4 who are members of the same mountain club, and the fastest 3 times will count. 
We want to be as inclusive as possible, so there are no requirements for a nominal girl or any set age groups to be in the team, other than all being under 18 on race day. If your club cannot get a team together individuals can enter and they will be part of the individual age category awards.

Ngauruhoe Trophy

The Ngauruhoe Club hosts the final interclub event of the season. The race is a combined slalom/GS.
The highlight of this event is the highly popular custodians race where all the custodians living on the mountain club building dress in fancy dress to race down the course whichever way they can. Prizes for the best-dressed are highly sort after. 
The Ngauruhoe Club prizegiving that runs from 7pm till late. It is a great place to catch up with all the friends you have made on the race course over the season. There is lots of wine and beer and the ever popular “shot-ski” for those winning teams.
  • Juniors (Under 17 on 1st January), 
  • Open 
  • Masters (Over 40 on 1st January). 
  • Teams consist of a max 5 skiers and/or snowboarders (club members) minimum 1 female 
  • 4 fastest times counting including 1 female. 
  • A maximum of 5 teams per club.