Test your skills this season by getting involved with the club’s interclub races.

Although we like to be competitive on the racecourse, by creating winning teams based on previous race results or personal referees, we also try to enter as many teams as possible. This allows everyone to get through the courses and extend their skiing and boarding skills.

In addition, each club hosts a unique prize giving after the events, involving beverages, food and plenty of spot prices. And, of course, you get to see how many trophies the Ruapehu Ski Club’s teams win.

If you are interested in representing the club, please get in touch. Not everyone can attend all the interclub events, so let us know which ones you can attend.


Racing Events

No events


Christiania Derby

This competitive event is the first team event and is popular due to plenty of fun elements. The highlight for many is the prize giving and after-match function held at the Christiania Ski Lodge.

Teams: Four people per team

  • Juniors Team (under 17 on 1 January, at least one girl in the team)
  • Mens Team (open ages)
  • Ladies Team (open ages)
  • Masters (40 or over on 1 January and at least one lady in the team)


  • Snowboarders
  • Veterans (65 or over on 1 January)

Haensli Cup

The Haensli Cup finds the fastest man and fastest woman on Mount Ruapehu and has been hosted by the Ruapehu Ski Club for the past 40 years. It is arguably the top interclub race at Whakapapa. Find out more here.

Rangatira Trophy

The ‘Fastest Club on the Mountain’ trophy is up for grabs at this Whakapapa Skifield event. There are four members per team, with each racer getting two runs, with the best time counting. The trophy is awarded to the club with the five fastest times, including one female, one junior and one master. 

Tongariro Junior Race

The crowning glory of this race for those 17 years or young on race day will be the interclub trophy. There will also be awards for the fastest in many age categories for girls and boys. The interclub trophy will involve teams of four members of the same mountain club, and the fastest three times will count. 

We want to be as inclusive as possible, so there are no requirements for a nominal girl or any set age group to be in the team, other than all being under 18 on race day. If your club doesn’t have the numbers for a team, you can enter as part of the individual age category awards.

Ngauruhoe Trophy

Ngauruhoe Club hosts the final interclub event of the season, a combined slalom/GS. The highlight is the popular custodians' race, where all the mountain custodians dress in fancy dress and race down the course whichever way they can. Naturally, prizes for the best-dressed are highly sort after. The prizegiving runs from 7 pm till late and is an excellent opportunity to catch up with the friends you have made on the racecourse.

Teams consist of a maximum of five skiers and/or snowboarders (club members) with a minimum of one female. The four fastest times count, including one female. There is a maximum of five teams per club.


  • Juniors (Under 17 on 1 January)
  • Open 
  • Masters (Over 40 on 1 January)